How did I stop watching Movies and films?

Today movies are cracking down human life. Youths sit behind a computer 24 hours for the things that they obtain nothing from. This is tricking and temptation of satan. Instead of blinding our eyes and hardening our hearts by movies if we read books and watch useful programs, whether scientific or religious our life could be changed.

When I was in grade 8 and 9, I was so addicted to movies and films. My age was between 15 and 16. After school my first task was stickening my eyes with fox and MBC channels. In Ethiopia the so called ‘Gamana’ drama was my other addiction. I remember one day that when this drama started, I didn’t perform the prayer (Asr salah) properly. My heart was stuck in drama rather than to salah (prayer). So what could I do to get rid of such addictions? When I watched and listened to Islamic Audio and video, I returned to watching movies and drama as before. So what shall I do?

Alhamdulillah for all of these diseases I have the greatest and fastest medicine. That is reading with understanding and implementing Book of Allah, Al-Qur’an. When I began grade ten, I began it with reading the meaning of the Glorious Qur’an. I was reading only English translation. I read it three months. The translation I was reading was ‘Sahih International’ translated by three American women. It is an easy and accurate translation. After three months no longer were movies, film or drama watched. Alhamdulillah I threw all of them to public garbage. I began tasting happiness after I rejected watching all of them. Alhamdulillah, at the end of year I scored Ethiopian national examination 4.00 all of them were ‘A’ except of Amharic subject. This subject was ‘B’. Note that I didn’t read the Qur’an to pass the exam, but to understand the letter of our Creator to us. Qur’an is guidance and solution for humanity. Allah says “And We send down of the Qur’an that which is healing and mercy for the believers, but it does not increase the wrongdoers except in loss.” Al-Isra 17:82
Indeed, if you study Islam, you drink an ocean of happiness. You live worldly paradise.
O our Lord, increase us guidance over guidance, knowledge over knowledge, happiness over happiness.

Leave a Reply

